First Attempt at HDR Portraiture

I love the look of some HDR images so thought whilst I was having a lazy afternoon with the missus I would have a play around with the idea of it.  I grabbed a picture I made my friend “Housemate Dave” pose for recently and had a play.

I chucked the image in ViewNX2 initially and saved 5 jpegs, at -2/-1/0/+1/+2 exposure.  I then chucked these into Photoshop CS5 and played around with the differing values until I was happy with the uber realism washed out look of it.  I then seperately extracted the background and added some heavy Gaussian blur to seperate that from the actual subject.

Overall result, really happy!

Any tips on how I can improve this?

Dave HDR Copy

Focal Length: 92mm

Lens: Nikkor55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR

Mode: AF-S

Aperture: f/4.5

Shutter Speed: 1/200

ISO: 100

Exposure Comp: -5.0EV

Flash: Yungnao 468II used as a slave set up on a tripod with a diffuser

 

One thought on “First Attempt at HDR Portraiture

Leave a Reply

