21/12/2012 – Stars in my Eyes

DSC_1175

 

IT’S CHRISTMAS!!!!   Finally finished from work for 16 days! Having not had a week off since May (7 months!) this is a pretty big deal.  Nottingham annually has it’s Christmas market in the square filled with all kinds of wonderful (mostly European) goodies.  From snowballs & chocolates to wooden handicrafts and…..well stars!  Light up stars!  The image above is from one of the very colourful stands.

I really liked all the colours and thought with the star being hidden it was an interesting composition.

Things I like in the photo:

  • The composition
  • The colours
  • The slight bokeh in the background (though I would have liked it to have been more)

Things I do not like in the photo:

  • The bad Depth of Field meaning the edge of the star is out of focus

So 3 versus 1 is not a bad ratio.  All in all an okay photo with learning points.  I should have zoomed in on my LCD screen when I was out and about to make sure it was better focused – know I know, and in the words of G.I.Joe, “Knowing is half the battle”.

Mode: A-Priority

Focal Length: 55mm

Aperture: f/7.1

Shutter Speed: 1/25

ISO: 400

Flash: None

 

One thought on “21/12/2012 – Stars in my Eyes

Leave a Reply

