Life In Zoom
DSC_2480

16/02/2013 – Low Key Lighting Portrait

DSC_2480

To quote arguably the best comedy franchise ever……”And now for something completely different!”

I found this tutorial on YouTube for a Low Key Portrait utilising an off camera flash and thought I had to give it a try, and I have to say I am really amazed by how well it came out!  There are a couple of small changes that I would make but on the whole I am really happy.  My partner was not to impressed that she had to sit staring at my flash though!

The part that amazed me about this image is that it was taken middle of the day in quite a bright room against a white wall!!!

If you’ve never tried a photo like this it is shockingly easy and I would really recommend checking the tutorial out!

Focal Length: 65mm

Lens: Nikkor55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR

Mode: Manual

Aperture: f/14

Shutter Speed: 1/200

ISO: 100

Flash: Yungnao 468II used as a slave set up on a tripod

This entry was published on February 17, 2013 at 9:47 am. It’s filed under Portrait and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “16/02/2013 – Low Key Lighting Portrait

  1. What a beautiful subject, you really are very lucky!!! Must say it´s a great photograph…….

  2. this is a great picture and want to do something like this too, I have the same camera d3100 and a yongnuo 568ex but can I ask you how did you set up the slave etc? I read that the D3100 cannot have command settings in the camera, can you explain in detail if you have time how you set up the flash and the camera? to have off camera flash to work??

    • Hi Andrew,

      Glad you liked it – I’m not sure if you can do this with the 568ex as I don’t know 100% how it works – it is one of the reasons that I bought the 468II, knowing that I could do this,

      On my 468II I set up the flash in S1 mode which means that it triggers off of my cameras flash. I turned the camera flash on too as low as possible and the Yungnao to quite a powerful light at 85mm so it was strong on the face. I then tried to use some card to minimise the light from the camera flash from hitting the model but allowing it still to trigger the Off camera flash.

      Here’s a link to a 30second Paint mockup of what I did: http://imgur.com/JPcleB8

      Hope this helps – let me know if you manage to do it.

      Matt

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

